Yoga News

Yoga Types

8 Basic Types of Yoga - Find the Yoga That Works for You

1️⃣Hatha Yoga

In Sanskrit "Hatha" means strength, and it describes the physical close-up of yoga practice, so many other yogas belong to the hatha yoga genre.

The Hatha Yoga page is great for beginner yogis. In Hatha Yoga class, you can learn basic yoga poses, breathing, relaxation, and the basics of meditation.

2️⃣ Vinyasa

This yoga focuses on the combination of movement and breathing, and the transition between each movement is very coherent. Vinyasa in Sanskrit means connection, each movement is replaced by a breath. In Vinyasa's class, there is a completely fixed link between each pose and the next, and yoga teachers can match the breathing sequence with the poses according to their teaching style. Sometimes you feel that vinyasa's teacher is not suitable for you, maybe when you change to another teacher, you feel that it is not bad. Depending on the class level, Vinyasa Yoga can be mild or intense, and it is recommended that beginners start from the basic class.

Vinyasa Yoga is suitable for both beginners and those who have practiced yoga for a long time.

3️⃣ Iyengar Yoga

Iyengar is a very strict yoga style. He does not change the order of each posture like in vinyasa yoga. Each posture is generally required to last longer, but when you inhale the air, you have to experience it. Until the breath fills the whole action, the yoga teacher will use a lot of yoga aids, such as yoga blocks, stretching belts, and yoga blankets, and the teacher will confirm the standard of each of your movements. iyengar yoga is very suitable for those who like to study the details of yoga movements, and standardized yoga movements can avoid accidents such as sports strains caused by incorrect postures for beginners in the process of learning yoga.

4️⃣ Bikram Yoga

Bikram is hot yoga, which is 26 poses developed by yogi Bikram of vinyasa yoga and has a strict sequence of yoga. Bikram keeps all the poses fixed because he believes that his yoga system moves are the best for the body and the way to regulate the movement of the system, such as your liver organs, blood vessels, muscles, etc.

5️⃣Ashtanga Ashtanga Yoga

(aka Power Yoga)

Developed by yogi K. Pattabhi Jois, Ashtanga Yoga is considered to be the modern expression of the ancient classic Indian Yoga and is often referred to as Power Yoga. Like Vinyasa Yoga, Ashtanga Yoga significantly Pays attention to the coordination of movements and breathing. However, unlike vinyasa yoga, the sequence of asanas can be changed at will, in Ashtanga yoga, each movement is fixed, and each movement has a fixation point, which is different from the external eye fixation. At this point, Ashtanga Yoga focuses more on the inner gaze and attention.

Ashtanga yoga has six sequences of movements. If you are a beginner, then you will start with the first sequence, and when you have completed the first sequence, you can continue to the next sequence. (There is a feeling of practicing the nine yin scriptures in martial arts novels), from elementary to advanced, each sequence will be more difficult than the previous sequence.


This yoga goes beyond movements and poses, Sharon Gannon and David Life have developed the practice of yoga into a way of life, a physical, moral, and intellectual practice that focuses on animal protection, environmental protection, and vegetarianism. There are five main elements of Jivamukti Yoga: shastra creed, bhakti prayer style ahimsa non-violence, nada music, and dhyana meditation style.

A typical Jivamukti class usually starts with a lesson on life purpose, including chant, breathing, and attention to consciousness. Then proceed to the asana process of vinyasa, and finally end with meditation and relaxation. If you contact yoga to improve your physical and mental strength, you can try Jivamukti yoga.

7️⃣ Kundalini Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini Yoga is included in the Chakra Yoga System, Kundalini Yoga Focus on Breathing and Core Strength, which focuses on improving your concentration, awareness, and senses. Each movement will be matched with a different breathing pattern so that the efficiency of each activity can be maximized.

Compared with other types of yoga, Kundalini yoga is more sensual and meditative. It combines breathing, chanting, meditation, and gestures well. Although there are more seated movements in a Kundalini yoga class than in other types of yoga classes, it is still physically exhausting. Kundalini Yoga is a challenge to your body and mind, while also enhancing your awareness and meditation.

8️⃣Yin (aka Restorative) Yin Yoga

This slow-paced yoga practice was developed by Paulie Zink, who studied Chinese martial arts and Taoist ideas and combined them with yoga. When practicing yin yoga, each movement should be maintained for a longer time, and each movement should be maintained for five minutes. Yin yoga can stimulate the deep muscles and improve your "qi" by maintaining a movemen.



Contact: Sam Chin

Phone: +86-130 5858 3139

Tel: +86-130 5858 3139


Add: No.628 Dongcheng Middle Road, Dongcheng District, Dongguan City, Guangdong, 523000, China